Posted in Lists

Series I need to read

Book series that I’ve been meaning to read (but some other books always get in the way):

1.  The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

It’s supposed to be one of the best sci-fi series ever. I came accross some quotes from the series and they were so funny and smart that I can’t even explain to myself why I haven’t read the books yet. Another reason to read it: in The Fry Chronicles, Stephen Fry writes about his friendship with Adams. Here’s what he says about the way Adams wrote:

Douglas’s writing routine was painful in the extreme. Sue Freestone, his publisher at Heinemann, would come round and beg, often almost with tears welling in her eyes, for pages from his printer. Douglas would hurl himself downstairs to the coffee machine, hurl himself back up again, thump to his desk and sit in front of the computer. After an hour or so twiddling with the screensaver, the wallpaper, the title of the file, the placement on the desktop of the folder the file was stored in, the formatting, the font, the size, the colour, the margins and the stylesheets, he might type a sentence. He would look at it, change it to italics, swap the word order around, get up, stare at it some more. Hum, curse, growl and groan and then delete it. He would try another sentence. He would look at this one and now perhaps give a little puff of pleasure. He would stand up, stride across the room and hurl himself down to the kitchen, where Sue and I would be gossiping and smoking around the table, and make himself another incredibly strong coffee.

‘Dare I ask?’ Sue would say.

‘Going well. I have the first sentence!’

‘Oh.’ It would be perhaps July with the new novel already overdue the previous September. One sentence written so far. Sue would smile tightly. ‘Well, that’s a start at least …’

Douglas would nod enthusiastically and fling himself back up the stairs, coffee dripping in his wake. We would hear the feet thump across the floor above our heads and then an agonized cry of ‘No! Hopeless!’ would tell us that the proud first sentence was not, after all, up to snuff, and a banging on the keyboard would register its angry deletion.
An author’s day is tough enough, but the writing life of Douglas Adams was excruciating in a manner quite unlike anyone else’s I have ever known.

How in the world did he ever finish those books?

Anyway, I will read them this year. I really, really will.

2. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

Time-travel? Yes, please. BUT…

I’m pretty sure that the first time I heard of Diana Gabaldon (or at least the first time I paid attention) was when she wrote a blog post against fanfiction. That didn’t exactly make me like her, because I love reading fanfiction. But her books seem interesting, so I’ll give it a shot.

3. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

In order to develop a secure defense against a hostile alien race’s next attack, government agencies breed child geniuses and train them as soldiers.

Sounds like fun. I think there’s supposed to be a movie, too.

4. Thursday Next by Jasper Fforde

So I’ll just copy/paste the blurb here:

Welcome to a surreal version of Great Britain, circa 1985, where time travel is routine, cloning is a reality (dodos are the resurrected pet of choice), and literature is taken very, very seriously. England is a virtual police state where an aunt can get lost (literally) in a Wordsworth poem, militant Baconians heckle performances of Hamlet, and forging Byronic verse is a punishable offense. All this is business as usual for Thursday Next, renowned Special Operative in literary detection, until someone begins kidnapping characters from works of literature. When Jane Eyre is plucked from the pages of Brontë’s novel, Thursday must track down the villain and enter the novel herself to avert a heinous act of literary homicide.

THAT SOUNDS LIKE THE COOLEST STORYLINE EVER!

I’m almost completely sure that I’ll love this book.

5. The Queen’s Thief by Megan Whalen Turner

The blurb cought my attention. Here’s how it starts: “I can steal anything.”

I want more books with thieves. This is historical and fantasy and about thieves, so of course,  it’s on my TBR list.

That’s five… and that’s enough for now.

2 thoughts on “Series I need to read

Leave a Reply

