Posted in Monthly Wrap-Up

This Week’s Books

Every Sunday, I’m going to write about books I’ve read the past week, books I’m currently reading and anything else that has to do with books.

This week I’ve read:

Fullmetal Alchemist Vol. 8 and Vol. 9

One of my favorite manga series. The story and the art are amazing, as always.

Aunt Julia and the Scriptwriter by Mario Vargas Llosa

A young student Marito starts a relationship with an older woman, Julia and meets Pedro Camacho, a scriptwriter of radio soap operas. Chapters alternate between Marito’s story and radio stories that Camacho writes. Most radio stories I liked, some I didn’t, but the book is still really good and it made me want to read more books by this author.

13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson

My review here.

Up For Renewal by Cathy Alter

Cathy Alter decides to follow advice from magazines for a year.

I almost gave up on this one. It’s badly written and quite boring. I just couldn’t make myself care about anything that happened to this woman.

Currently reading:

The Decameron by Giovanni Boccaccio

I borrowed this from library, but it’s a short version (18 stories). So I found the rest on Gutenberg and now I’m reading them little by little.

The Way We Live Now by Anthony Trollope

I’ve read about 50 pages so far. Its beautifully written and the characters are interesting.

Hate List by Jennifer Brown

This book is on my list for YA Saves reading challenge. It’s about a school shooting. It’s written from the POV of shooter’s girlfriend. I started it today and so far, it’s good.

One thought on “This Week’s Books

Leave a Reply

