Posted in Reviews

Review: Veronika Decides to Die

Title: Veronika Decides to Die

Author: Paulo Coelho

2 stars

IT’S OVER! I ACTUALLY FINISHED IT!
A book so short shouldn’t take so long to read.

The reason I wanted to read this book:
I’ve read The Alchemist and Brida and I thought they were horrible. But then I read an interview with Paulo Coelho that I found interesting, so I decided to give the guy another chance. And the blurb for this book caught my attention.

24-year-old Veronika decides to kill herself. Why? Because life is boring and there’s a lot of really bad things in the world. She survives and ends up in a mental hospital. The doctor tells her that her heart is damaged and she’ll die in a few days.
The book was unbelievably boring. But it did have some (rare) interesting parts:
– the beginning, where she thinks about killing herself and how no one knows where Slovenia is
– when Dr. Igor talks about why people consider certain things normal
– the ending was unexpected. Still can’t decide if it was good or bad, though.

Btw, that stuff about QWERTY being designed to slow people down? Not true.

3 thoughts on “Review: Veronika Decides to Die

  1. 😀 Ah I loved this book actually.
    Furthermore, Alchemist is beautiful I think, beautifully written and exceptional because there is no other books quite like it.

    However I did find Veronika a bit annoying at times but ending no it was great XD did not see it coming.

    Like

    1. I know a lot of people love him, but Paulo Coelho is just one of those authors that is obviously not for me. I won’t be reading any more of him (three books were more than enough :)).

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

