Posted in Reviews

Review: My Blood Approves

Title: My Blood Approves

Author: Amanda Hocking

Genre: Paranormal Romance, Young Adult

1 star

Teenager Alice Bonham’s life feels crazy after she meets Jack. With his fondness for pink Chuck Taylors and New Wave, he’s unlike anyone she knows. Then she meets his brother, Peter. Even though he can’t stand the sight of her, she’s drawn to him. Falling for two guys isn’t even the worst of her problems. Jack and Peter are vampires, and Alice finds herself caught between love and her own blood

The main character is a teenage girl, Alice, who is probably one of the worst characters ever. She obviously doesn’t like her ‘best friend’ Jane (and who would, she’s even worse than Alice), but for some strange reason they’re still best friends.
At the beginning of the book she out with Jane, they get attacked and then (how predictable) a mysterious guy shows up and saves Alice (Jane doesn’t need saving, because she already run away or something). The three of them go for a coffee. Jane and the waitress are all over the guy (Jack), but (of course), he only has eyes for Alice (this scene really reminded me of a similar scene in Twilight).

“There was something about him that made me trust him implicitly.”

She hears him laugh: “Somehow, it warmed me through and through, and I realized
that I would trust him with anything.”

“But sitting here, in the booth with him, nothing had ever felt more natural or safe.
This was where I was supposed to be.”

So they start hanging out more and more, and everyone he meets is in love with him except for Alice. Because she’s SPECIAL. She figures out that he’s different, but doesn’t know how, exactly. There’s a scene where she slices herself and he gets weird. How shocking!

“What exactly are you saying?” Jack narrowed his eyes at me, but there was a brightness to them. He was hoping I would figure it out. 
“You were bit, but there’s hardly a wound, and-and you have like super human strength and… everything in the whole world wants to have sex with you and… you don’t have a temperature!” I spouted. Biting my lip, I didn’t look at him. I was trying to figure it all out, but none of it made sense. I could feel him looking at me, but I just couldn’t put the puzzle together. 
“So?” Jack asked encouragingly.
“So…” I threw my arms up in the air, feeling completely exasperated. “I don’t know! You’re a werewolf!”

The only character that was a little bit interesting was Peter. He’s another vampire, Jack’s ‘brother’. I liked his backstory. What I didn’t like is Alice’s ridiculous “OMG, I can’t think of anything else when he’s around” reaction. And she wants him to bite her, because, er, I don’t know. I never really understood Alice. But if Peter doesn’t want to, there’s always Jack. It seemed to me sometimes that she doesn’t really care which one she ends up with. As long as he’s a hot vampire, she’s happy.
Between Jack and Peter, I was rooting for Peter. But than I realized, if he ‘won’, he would have to spend the rest of his eternal life with Alice. Why would I want the poor guy to end up with her? She would bore him to death.

There are more books in the series, but there’s no way I’m reading them.

Leave a Reply

