Posted in Lists

Top Ten Tuesday

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is: series you’d like to start but haven’t yet.

Last year I wrote a post titled Series I need to read. I still haven’t started any of them, so some of them will be on this list, too.

  1. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams – At this point, all I can say is: WHAT THE HELL IS WRONG WITH ME?!?
  2. Thursday Next by Jasper Fforde – It’s a book in which characters from other books are real. And you can actually end up IN a book. And I really, really, really want it.
  3. The Queen’s Thief by Megan Whalen Turner – Someone recommened this to me ages ago. I like stories about thieves, I suppose I’ll like this.
  4. The Tamír Triad by Lynn Flewelling – I love the Nightrunners series and this takes place in the same world. It’s gotta be awesome.
  5. The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare – I read the first two books in The Infernal Devices series, so I’m planning on reading TMI, too. Hopefully, I’ll start before the movie comes out.
  6. The Kingkiller Chronicle by Patrick Rothfuss – “magically gifted young man who grows to be the most notorious wizard his world has ever seen”. Is this about Voldemort? Yeah, I’ll read it.
  7. Discworld by Terry Pratchett – I keep seeing this book in the library. It’s seems to be on every shelf that I look at. I think it’s haunting me. Therefore, TBR.
  8. Foundation by Isaac Asimov – I wanna know what the fuss is about.
  9. The Iron Fey by Julie Kagawa – One of the many YA series I STILL haven’t started.
  10. Ender’s Saga by Orson Scott Card – I just realized that there are already 6 books in the series. Better start soon.
9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

    1. I have a feeling it’s gonna be like that. So I thought I should wait until the third book is out, so I can read them all at once.

      Like

      1. I know what you mean, but since no one knows when the 3rd one’s coming out, it’d be a shame to deny yourself the incredibleness for so long! I’m rationing myself through the second book – I bought it a year ago, almost exactly, and I can’t bear to end it before the third one comes out, so I’m only letting myself read 50 pages occasionally. The series definitely holds the title of one of my favourite fantasies ever, along with The Lies of Locke Lamora, have you read that? If not, also go and read that! (Although, there again, the first two of seven are out, and the author’s not fast… :P)

        Like

        1. So you haven’t finished it yet? Your self-control is amazing.
          The Lies of Locke Lamora is also on my list and I’m definitely NOT waiting for him to finish the whole series 🙂

          Like

            1. Wow. What if it falls into the water? I’d be scared 🙂
              Also, these comments are becoming kinda tiny. I think I need to change my blog theme.

              Like

              1. Ah, I’ve only dropped 3 books in the bath, ever! Two when I was quite young, like under ten, and one the night I got back home from my first term at Oxford, and I was exhausted and actually fell asleep in the bath! If you’re not sleepy, there’s no danger! 🙂

                Like

  1. I LOVE the Thursday Next series! It helps to have read quite a few classics though, so you understand the different characters. Knowing the story of Jane Eyre, Great Expectations and Hamlet will help a lot.

    Like

    1. Yeah, and I don’t want Thursday Next to spoil some other books for me. I’ve read the three you mentioned and I’ll see what else I should read before starting the series 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

