Posted in Reviews

Review: The Immortal Rules

the immortal rules cover

Title: The Immortal Rules

Author: Julie Kagawa

Genre: Paranormal, Young Adult, Dystopia

To survive in a ruined world, she must embrace the darkness…
Allison Sekemoto survives in the Fringe, the outermost circle of a walled-in city. By day, she and her crew scavenge for food. By night, any one of them could be eaten. Some days, all that drives Allie is her hatred of them—the vampires who keep humans as blood cattle. Until the night Allie herself dies and becomes one of the monsters.
Forced to flee her city, Allie must pass for human as she joins a ragged group of pilgrims seeking a legend—a place that might have a cure for the disease that killed off most of civilization and created the rabids, the bloodthirsty creatures who threaten human and vampire alike. And soon Allie will have to decide what and who is worth dying for…again.
Enter Julie Kagawa’s dark and twisted world as an unforgettable journey begins.

I received this book from the publisher in exchange for a review. 

4 stars

Allison is one of my favorite female characters ever. She’s so badass and strong. She can take care of herself and that’s sadly rare in YA books.

I loved the first half of this book. Especially the conversations between Allison and Kanin. Kanin teaches Allison pretty much everything about vampires. I wish he was around for a bit longer. I was glad to find out that animal blood is not enough for vampires to survive, so they can’t say “I’m good, I don’t drink from humans.” Allison has some struggles with The Hunger, but I never felt like it’s REALLY difficult for her to control herself.

I hated Stick. Holy shit, what a coward. I understand being scared, but this guy can’t handle ANYTHING. He’s the most annoying character in the book. The second most annoying is Ruth.

About halfway through the book, Allison joins a group of humans who are looking for a city called Eden. There she meets Zeke, Jeb and Ruth. Zeke is the love interest, Ruth is a bitch and I don’t know what to think of Jeb.

When I was reading the book and Kanin showed up, I thought for sure that he’s the love interest. Apparently I was wrong. But hey, maybe that changes in the next book! The actual love interest is Zeke. He’s really nice person. But the chemistry between him and Allison is nonexistent. The Allison/Zeke/Ruth love triangle was boring and unnecessary. The book was better without high school drama.

Like I said, I loved the first half of this book. The world building, descriptions of vampire cities, rabids (they’re frightening as fuck), the way humans live and most of all Kanin – it was AWESOME. Compared to that, the second half was disappointing and kinda messy. But I liked the ending.

I have no idea if I’ll keep reading the series. Maybe if somebody tells me that Kanin comes back.

 

2 thoughts on “Review: The Immortal Rules

Leave a Reply

