Posted in Reviews

Review: Star Trek

Star Trek cover

Title: Star Trek

Author: Alan Dean Foster

The origins of James Kirk, Spock and the crew of the USS Enterprise from the 2009 film “Star Trek” and how these iconic characters came together in the alternate reality caused by Nero’s time travel. This book is the novelization of the 2009 film of the same name.

5 stars

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It’s well written and in my experience, that’s not usual for movie novelizations. I read it one day after watching the movie. The story is pretty much the same, with some small differences (there are some scenes that aren’t in the movie, the dialogue is sometimes changed etc.).

There are more details, so you get to know characters better. I liked finding out a bit more about the relationship between Uhura and Spock. There are moments where other people notice that something’s happening, but decide to keep it to themselves. One of my favorite characters in the movie is Chekov. Whenever he said something in the book, I couldn’t help but read it in his accent.

There are some little mistakes in the book, so more editing wouldn’t hurt. I would still recommend it to people who enjoyed the movie. You don’t have to watch the movie to enjoy the book; it’s good enough on its own (but I still prefer the movie). Zachary Quinto did the audiobook reading that I’ll probably listen to one day.

I look forward to reading the Star Trek Into Darkness novelization – after I see the movie, of course.

One thought on “Review: Star Trek

Leave a Reply

