Posted in Reviews

Review: The Edge

The Edge cover

Title: The Edge

Series: Star Trek: Starfleet Academy

Author: Rudy Josephs

A new Starfleet Academy series for teens–filled with romance and adventure! In The Competitive Edge, Kirk finds out how much of a toll the intense training classes and grueling schedule of academy life is taking on all the cadets, including himself. But some recruits seem better equipped to handle the challenges. Is there something that is giving them an edge? Kirk is determined to find out, especially since one of the cadets with a little something extra is his new girlfriend.

4 stars

This is the second published book in the series, but it takes place before the first one. I didn’t know that when I started reading it, so it was very confusing (it would be really nice if there was a note at the beginning that says “This book takes place before the events in The Delta Anomaly”).

Kirk, Uhura and McCoy are just starting out at the Academy and they’re doing their best to keep up. There’s a lot of pressure on the students, so some of them use illegal procedures to give themselves an edge. And sometimes those procedures don’t work out very well. The mystery is interesting and it makes you wonder how far should people go to succeed.

Kirk is still not sure the Academy is the right place for him, so throughout the book, he tries to figure out if he should stay. He also has a new love interest here, that I didn’t care about much.

I don’t know exactly why, but I just can’t get into McCoy. Whenever there’s a scene with him, I’m thinking “Ok, that’s interesting”, but it just doesn’t stick with me. There are nothing about him that I really remember and love and go back to reread.

Now, for my favorite part: Spock/Uhura moments! There’s quite a few of them here and I’m loving that – I never get tired of reading about them. This book shows the early development of their relationship: their first meeting outside of the classroom, Spock asking her for help, Uhura teaching him about small talk (LOVE THAT SCENE). I still want more Spock and more scenes from his perspective (but I’m guessing that his POV is more difficult to write).

The book is very entertaining. If you plan on reading the series, you should start with this one, so you’re not as confused as I was.

One thought on “Review: The Edge

Leave a Reply

