Posted in Reviews

Review: Found

found penny black cover

Title: Found

Series: Penny Black

Author:  Stacey Wallace Benefiel 

Penny Black hasn’t had it easy. Just about everything you’d expect to happen to a harassed foster-kid turned junkie has happened to Penny. Add in the mysterious power to rewind time, conducting events around her, and it’s a wonder she held up on the streets for so many years. Now, at seventeen, the New Society has found her. Finally, Penny is where she belongs. But that doesn’t stop the visions, or the need to protect the victims shown to her.
Wyatt Adams is excited and intrigued when his sister Melody assigns him to be Penny’s Lookout. Being the youngest, and hopelessly ordinary in the family that created the New Society, has left Wyatt feeling like he has a lot to prove — Penny is a big deal. She’s got abilities that surpass any he’s seen before…and pretty much every quality he looks for in a girlfriend, but no one needs to know about that, especially Penny.

I received this book from the publisher in exchange for a review. 

2 stars

This book is the first part of the Penny Black trilogy, which takes place in the same world like the author’s previous work, Zellie Wells trilogy. I never read Zellie Wells trilogy, but now I feel like I should have, because I probably would have understood this book better. Oh well, it’s too late now.

The story starts with the New Society finding Penny Black. She joins them and gets assigned a Lookout, Wyatt. Penny has had a very difficult life, but I really never felt like that has screwed her up too much. Penny has visions and she can rewind time. The New Society is supposed to help her, and others like her, learn to control their powers. I thought Wyatt was irritating because of “I’m a virgin, my life sucks” attitude. Come on, it’s not the worst thing ever. I couldn’t make myself care about any characters in the book, so I couldn’t properly enjoy it, either.

The book takes place in the future. There are mentions of iPhone 23 and ‘really old shows’ like Buffy and Firefly. The way people talk is a bit different. That makes sense, because language changes and people in the future won’t talk exactly the way we do now. But the constant use of ‘bueno’ was really annoying. I find it hard to believe that nobody ever uses the word ‘good’.

Everything happens quite fast. I think I would have enjoyed it more if it the pacing was slower. The blurb says that this novel is NA. So I guess the only difference between YA and NA is that the characters in NA get laid more.

The ending was a big surprise and it actually makes me kind of want to know what happens later… but I’m still not curious enough to actually read the second book.

One thought on “Review: Found

Leave a Reply

