Posted in Lists

Top Ten Tuesday 5

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is: books I was forced to read.

All of the books on my list were required reading for school. I don’t think anyone has ‘forced’ me to read a book outside of class 🙂

1. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy – Okay, so some parts were really boring. But there are some really awesome characters that I loved reading about.

2. Hamlet by William Shakespeare – I didn’t realize how good it was until I read it in English. The translation just can’t be as good as the original.

3. The Hunchback of Notre-Dame by Victor Hugo – I remember thinking ‘I’m gonna read the first chapter to see what it’s like’ and I ended up reading the whole book in one day. I absolutely loved it.

4. Prometheus Bound by Aeschylus – I didn’t like this one the first time I read it. I tried again a few years later and was surprised by how much I liked it.

5. A Doll’s House by Henrik Ibsen – There was a big discussion in class about whether Nora’s choice was right or wrong. I remember that because we didn’t usually discuss books much. I reread it a couple of times since.

6. Death and the Dervish by Meša Selimović – Such a beautifully written book.

7. Inferno by Dante Alighieri – We didn’t have to read the whole Inferno for school, but I did, because I really enjoyed it. Purgatorio was not that good and I never even finished Paradiso.

8. Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne – I was the only person in class who enjoyed this book. I read it many times and it’s still so awesome.

9. Animal Farm by George Orwell – Funny and smart.

10. Don Quixote by Miguel Cervantes – Hilarious book. I wish I could read it in the original language.

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday 5

  1. For Doll’s House, did you read the original ending, or the one the one his German editor made him use?

    Who could not enjoy a crazy-driven submarine captain? Your classmates lacked imagination. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

