Posted in Comic Books, Reviews

Review: Manga Classics: Pride and Prejudice

cover pride and prejudice manga

Title: Manga Classics: Pride and Prejudice

Author: Stacy King

Beloved by millions the world over, Pride & Prejudice is delightfully transformed in this bold, new manga adaptation. All of the joy, heartache, and romance of Jane Austen’s original, perfectly illuminated by the sumptuous art of manga-ka Po Tse, and faithfully adapted by Stacy E. King.

I received this book from the publisher in exchange for a review.

3 stars

After reading the book countless times, watching and reading various adaptations and fanfiction stories, I was not going to skip this manga version of Pride and Prejudice. And I’m glad I didn’t.

The plot follows the book pretty closely. The artwork is beautiful and the characters are easy to tell apart, which isn’t always the case when reading a manga. I enjoyed experiencing one of my favorite stories in a different way. As far as I’m concerned, there are never enough adaptations of Pride and Prejudice.

I had a problem with some of the dialogue because it was quite cheesy (I thought ‘there’s no way Austen would write that line!’). The cheesiness extends to the artwork too, but I expected that. I read some other manga with random flowers in romantic scenes, but I still don’t like them. I also felt there was a lack of social criticism that’s so important in the original book.

It’s not as good as the novel (can any adaptation be?), but I’d recommend this to any fan of Pride and Prejudice.

2 thoughts on “Review: Manga Classics: Pride and Prejudice

Leave a Reply

