Posted in Book vs adaptation

When Calls the Heart: Book vs Movie

 

when calls the heart cover                when calls the heart movie cover

Nothing in her cultured East Coast upbringing prepared Elizabeth for a teaching position on the Canadian frontier. Yet, despite the constant hardships, she loves the children in her care. Determined to do the best job she can and fighting to survive the harsh land, Elizabeth is surprised to find her heart softening towards a certain member of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

I don’t understand people who adapt books into movies and change things that have no reason to be changed.

I’ve been seeing gifs of a tv show When Calls the Heart and that made me want to watch it but then I found out that there’s a book and a movie, too. I ended up watching the movie first (Stephen Amell’s in it, people! Arrow <3) and then reading the book. The adaptation is quite different from the original story and that was a bit confusing at first.

The book is about Elizabeth Thatcher, a young teacher who gets a job in a small town. It’s the first book in Canadian West series by Janette Oke. It wasn’t a great book, but it was good enough so I’ll probably keep reading. The genre is Christian fiction which is not something I usually read because I don’t like to feel like the author is preaching to me. There were some preachy moments in the book and I mostly just skipped over them, but the rest of the book was good. I was pleasantly surprised to see that there’s more to the story than the romance between Elizabeth and Wynn. I’ve read too many books where the author seems to forget that anything else happens in people’s lives.

The movie was …okay. There are two stories in the movie. The main story is of Elizabeth Thatcher, a young teacher who gets a job in a small town but is scared of leaving home. She finds a diary written by her aunt, also Elizabeth Thatcher, who was a teacher and got a job in a small town and met a guy called Wynn. That’s the Elizabeth from the book and her scenes were the only parts of the movie that I was interested in. Sadly, everything was rushed and the ending was very disappointing. I don’t understand what was the point of the younger Elizabeth? Why waste so much time to show us her life, and leave so little time for the book Elizabeth? Why give the characters the same name and make their lives so similar? Why is there no explanation for how the younger Elizabeth didn’t seem to know anything about the aunt that she was named after?

The movie could have been so much better. Oh well, at least Stephen Amell is pretty to look at.

2 thoughts on “When Calls the Heart: Book vs Movie

  1. I watched the tv series and didn’t like it all that much. I did not realise there was also a book and a movie! That’s confusing. The movie doesn’t sound like something I’d particularly enjoy, but maybe if I have nothing else to watch someday. Might give the book a try though

    Like

Leave a Reply

