Posted in Book vs adaptation

The Mortal Instruments: Book vs TV Show

 

city of bones cover.jpg                        shadowhunters-poster.jpg

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder – much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing – not even a smear of blood – to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy? This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know…

I recently watched the first season of Shadowhunters so this post is an excuse to talk about that. I read the first three books about three years ago and loved them. Then I read the fourth, got very disappointed and stopped reading the series. So this post is just my thoughts on the first season of the show and what I remember from the first three books.

I was having a really horrible week when I read the books and they were exactly what I needed at the time, fun fantasy books that made me forget about my reality for a while. They had adventure, humor, romance, drama, angst and pulled me in pretty much as soon as I started reading. Because of how much better they made me feel, I never really criticised them much, but of course there are flaws and I’m a bit scared of rereading the series because I don’t wanna ruin the books for myself. I like Clary and Jace together, but I noticed that a lot of people didn’t like the ‘omg are they brother and sister’ part of the story – I never for a second believed they were and I really fucking loved reading about all the angst and tension between them. Then again, I like reading about fucked up relationships.

With the exception of the first three minutes (I liked the music and posing on tops of buildings), I wasn’t exactly amazed by the first episode of the show. Or the second one. The acting wasn’t very good, I didn’t feel much chemistry between actors, the special effects were cheesy and there was no Malec. But the acting got better, the chemistry got better and now there’s an episode called Malec, plus Isabelle is incredible, I love the way Harry Shum Jr. plays Magnus and the show is so much fun to watch. But the special effects are still cheesy, the show is at the ‘omg are they brother and sister’ part of the story that I love but it could have been done better (is it just me or the characters weren’t nearly as surprised by the news as they should have been?) and some people still need to work on their acting. That said, I can’t wait for the next season 😀

Leave a Reply

