Posted in Reviews

Review: The Hound of the Baskervilles

hound cover.jpg

Title: The Hound of the Baskervilles

Series: Sherlock Holmes #5

Author:  Arthur Conan Doyle

Holmes and Watson are faced with their most terrifying case yet. The legend of the devil-beast that haunts the moors around the Baskerville family’s home warns the descendants of that ancient clan never to venture out in those dark hours when the power of evil is exalted. Now, the most recent Baskerville, Sir Charles, is dead and the footprints of a giant hound have been found near his body. Will the new heir meet the same fate?

Rating 4/5

This book spent a very long time on my to-read shelf but I have finally gotten around to reading it. I knew what it’s about because it’s a famous story and BBC Sherlock has an episode (a great episode) inspired by this book. Sometimes when I wait a long time to read a book that so many people love, my expectations get too high and it’s difficult for the book to live up to them. The Hound of the Baskervilles is pretty amazing, but I would have enjoyed it more if I didn’t know anything about it.

This might be the only Sherlock story that has a bit of horror feel to it, there are some very creepy descriptions of the hound, most of the book takes place in a house in the middle of nowhere and the atmosphere of the book reminds me of The Turn of the Screw by Henry James. The story is narrated by Watson. As always, he does his best to help Sherlock out and I always feel sorry for him when he’s really proud of some deduction he made and then Sherlock goes “Nope, you’re wrong, here’s what actually happened”. I like that Watson had more to do in this story. Sherlock is, of course, incredible, one of my favorite literary characters ever and reading his deductions never gets boring.

One of these days I’ll read the rest of the books in the series too 😀

 

Leave a Reply

