Posted in Reviews

Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

626F6F78747265616D=7474747474727576707<7473

Title: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Series: Harry Potter #8 

Author: J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, Jack Thorne

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband, and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes darkness comes from unexpected places.

Rating: 5/5

WARNING: SPOILERS!!!

Seriously, there are so many spoilers here and if haven’t read (or seen) the play they won’t make much sense but they will still ruin everything for you.

It’s finally here! It’s been years since ‘All was well’ and now this little book is here to tell us that, actually, er, all wasn’t well.

The beginning of this story overlaps with the Deathly Hallows epilogue. The kids are off to school, it’s Albus’s first year and on the train he meets his new best friend – Scorpius Malfoy. Awesome, right? And then Albus gets sorted into Slytherin (my house, btw), everyone is shocked and suddenly it’s the beginning of the second year. After showing a couple of moments from the second and third years, the story fast-forwards to the fourth year where most of the action takes place.

And the action is crazy, fun, and confusing as fuck. There’s a time-turner and Albus and Scorpius use it to try to save Cedric’s life, but they fail and Ron is married to Padma and Rose doesn’t exist, so they try again and Scorpius is by himself in oops-Voldemort-won version of the world, so he tries to change things again but Voldemort has a daughter (wtf!!!) and EVERYONE goes back in time, Harry channels his inner Voldemort, everyone is friends and there’s a happy ending. Hey, I warned you about the spoilers!

Albus and Scorpius’s friendship is the BEST part of this story. Neither of them are copies of their parents (thank god for that). I wish we got more scenes with Lily, Rose and James, but I guess there was no time for that. Revisiting the old characters was bittersweet. It’s nice to know what happens later, but part of me wanted to believe that ‘All was well.’ meant all was well forever, not all was well up until this moment. It was strange picturing Harry, Ron and Hermione as adults – my brain kept switching between older versions we see in the seventh movie and the actors who play them in Cursed Child.

I understand why some people say this story is basically a fanfic – there are so many moments that are a wish fulfillment for so many HP fans. So many characters are back! Snape is back and I know lots of people won’t be happy that he’s a hero in the story, but who cares, I loved his part. Draco and Harry are on the same side! There’s even a line that says they looked at each other as friends for the first time – this is something that so many people wanted since those two met in the first book. There are moments that I never expected to be in HP books:

DRACO: Hermione Granger, I’m being bossed around by Hermione Granger. (She turns towards him. He smiles.) And I’m mildly enjoying it.

Rowling said that she’s done with Harry after this play, and I don’t know if I should be happy or sad about that. I don’t want it to stop, but if it continues, I don’t wanna be disappointed.

I would love to watch the Cursed Child on stage. I have no idea how some of the scenes can even work on stage (all of the spells, polyjuice potion etc). Hopefully somebody will make a movie out of this book too.

 

4 thoughts on “Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

  1. Ahhh everyone seems to be reading it and here I am, missing out on a cheap copy because I had a brain fart and didn’t get it when I could’ve! I didn’t read all of your review to avoid spoilers, but I couldn’t help but to love that Draco quote you included, haha. I LOVE Dramione and just reading even that made me a bit giddy. 😛

    Like

    1. It’s best to read this one as soon as possible, the Internet is full of spoilers!
      Haha, that quote is really made for Dramione fans 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

