Posted in Reviews

Review: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

10429045.jpg
Title: Shatter Me

Author: Tahereh Mafi

Genre: Young Adult, Dystopia, Romance

I have a curse
I have a gift

I am a monster
I’m more than human

My touch is lethal
My touch is power

I am their weapon
I will fight back

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

Rating: 3/5

Shatter Me has been on my TBR since it came out and I waited for years to finally start reading it. But at least now I can read the whole trilogy without taking breaks between the books 🙂

Like so many other YA trilogies that have been published in recent years, this book takes place in a dystopian future, the main character is an unusual 17 year old girl, there’s a love triangle that involves the girl and two guys, one ‘good’ and one ‘bad’, etc. But hey, I knew what I was getting into – I still chose to read this because sometimes this is exactly the kind of thing my reading life needs.

The worst part of the book is the romance between Juliette and Adam (the good guy in this triangle). We’re supposed to believe that they have loved each other for ages, so their story isn’t insta-love, but oh-my-god they are so boring. Their conversations are way too cheesy for my taste and I don’t feel any chemistry between them – it’s irrelevant how many times the characters tell each other all about how they feel, if there’s no chemistry, proclamations of love (even the very long ones) aren’t going to convince me.

The most interesting characters are Warner and Kenji. Warner is the ‘bad guy’ in the triangle (if it can be called triangle yet – I don’t think he’s in love with Juliette, he’s just obsessed for now). This guy is really fucking evil, though there have been hints at some hidden depths of his that are probably more explored in the sequels. I like him, it’s refreshing to read about a proper psycho. Kenji is the most fun character, but I hope his flirting with Juliette doesn’t turn the story into a love square – that would seriously be too much.

I heard about the abundance of metaphors in this book, but I was still surprised at how many metaphors are actually used. They’re everywhere and they’re distracting and they’re not well written. I hope the next book tones it down.

3 thoughts on “Review: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

  1. I’m glad you liked this book! I totally agree that Warner is evil- I shipped Juliette and Adam! I hope you enjoy the rest of the series; the two sequels are just as good as the first book, which is something I don’t say a lot! Great review😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

