Posted in Reviews

Review: Journey to the Center of the Earth by Jules Verne

623395

Title: Journey to the Center of the Earth

Series: Extraordinary Voyages

Author: Jules Verne

Genre: Science-fiction

The intrepid Professor Lindenbrock embarks upon the strangest expedition of the nineteenth century: a journey down an extinct Icelandic volcano to the Earth’s very core. In his quest to penetrate the planet’s primordial secrets, the geologist–together with his quaking nephew Axel and their devoted guide, Hans–discovers an astonishing subterranean menagerie of prehistoric proportions. Verne’s imaginative tale is at once the ultimate science fiction adventure and a reflection on the perfectibility of human understanding and the psychology of the questor.

Rating: 2/5

Warning: SPOILERS!

One of my favorite books ever is Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea. I read it when I was 11 and absolutely loved it and ever since I’ve been meaning to read more books by Jules Verne. I didn’t expect this one to be such a bad choice.

First off, when a book is called Journey to the Center of the Earth, it’s not too much to expect the characters to actually get to the center of the Earth. The possibility of them getting there is the reason I wanted to read this, but no, they basically just take a walk underground, from Iceland to Italy, and that’s it. They see some strange things, but nothing that interesting, they have some trouble finding water, but in the end, it’s nowhere near the exciting story I expected it to be.

It took way too long for the journey to actually begin (the first half of the book the characters are just preparing for it). The story could have been good if the characters and their relationships were more interesting, but they bored me to death. The most interesting part of the book was when they saw a 12 feet tall human-like creature underground, but all they did was run away and talk about the it – was it really human, could there be a human civilization somewhere under the surface of the Earth? Well, we’ll never find out, because they never even try to get closer to it.

This is huge disappointment to me, because I was sure I will enjoy it, but I’m not giving up on Jules Verne. I want to read all of the Extraordinary Voyages books – there must be some other that are as incredible as Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea.

3 thoughts on “Review: Journey to the Center of the Earth by Jules Verne

  1. Aww man. My experience with this one was different. I enjoyed it and loved the slow build up. I thought the characters were entertaining especially the eccentric Lidenbrock. But I can see how it would seem boring.

    Like

Leave a Reply

