Posted in Comic Books, Reviews

Review: Manga Classics: Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen

26591769.jpg

Title: Manga Classics: Sense and Sensibility

Authors: Stacy King, Po Tse, Jane Austen

Genre: Comic Books

When Elinor Dashwood’s father dies, her family’s finances are crippled. After the Dashwoods move to a cottage in Devonshire, Elinor’s sister Marianne is torn between the handsome John Willoughby and the older Colonel Brandon. Meanwhile, Elinor’s romantic hopes with Edward Ferrars are hindered due to his prior engagement. Both Elinor and Marianne strive for love while the circumstances in their lives constantly change.
Manga Classics brings new life to Jane Austen’s very first novel. Sense and Sensibility is a classic tale about love, romance and heartbreak in this brilliant manga adaption.

Rating: 3/5

I received this book on Netgalley in exchange for a review.

This was a good enough adaptation of Sense and Sensibility, but I felt it was too sentimental, in a way that I don’t remember the original work was. But I read it years ago, so my memory might not be the most accurate.

Like with other manga adaptations, it takes some time to get used to everyone looking younger than they are supposed to be. When I think of Colonel Brandon, I see Alan Rickman because that’s the first adaptation of Sense and Sensibility that I’ve watched, but the character drawn in this manga is much younger and much more conventionally good looking. I thought the art for female characters was much better than for male characters.

I always found Marianne’s story more interesting than Elinor’s and it was like that in this manga too. Sorry, Elinor, but you’re too sensibile to be a lot of fun next to Marianne and her Willoughby drama.

Reading all those adaptations of Austen’s works makes me want to reread all of Austen’s actual works. But if I read this manga without knowing the original story, I doubt it would have made me interested in Austen.

Leave a Reply

