Posted in The Shakespeare Challenge

The Shakespeare Challenge

I’ve been thinking about doing this for a very long time and now I’m finally gonna start!

The plan is to read all of Shakespeare’s plays, and give myself a week for each one (or maybe longer, if real life gets in the way). I also want to reread all of his sonnets, and of course I’m going to blog about the experience. So far I have read 8 plays by Shakespeare, but some of them I barely rememeber reading because I read them during the 24 hour readathon and I was going way too fast. And some I read in Croatian, but translations are never as good as originals. So now I’m going to read all of them in English, take my time, do some research online and try to understand them as well as I can.

I also want to read a book or two on Shakespeare’s life and watch some adaptations of his plays. Basically, I’m in the mood for Shakespeare and hopefully it will last long enough for me to actually finish this challenge.

I’m not going to plan the reading order, except for those plays that are connected – the rest I’ll read in whatever order I feel like. I’m probably going to start with plays I haven’t read before and read a sonnet or two between them.

(I honestly don’t know if I’ll have the time to do this properly but I really want to give it a shot. Good luck to me, right?)

 

Edit 21.10.2017:

hahahahahahahahahahahaha

My plan was way too optimistic. I’m not giving up on this challenge, but I don’t have that much time for reading and blogging anymore. I’m still doing this but I’m taking my time  🙂

 

7 thoughts on “The Shakespeare Challenge

  1. Good luck! A great challenge – I’ll be intrigued to hear what you think of the plays. I’ve seen more of them than I’ve read, but there are still loads I’ve never seen OR read…

    Like

Leave a Reply

